Hey there! This post contains affiliate links to products. We may receive a commission for purchases made through these links. But it never influences our product selection process.
Sours are an acquired pick. The taste is picked up in many products, including sour beers, candies, chips, and fast foods. Are you one of those who enjoy the mouth-puckering sensation of sours? Well, if yes, then beware of the gluten in some of the sour foods that can cause problems. To start with, you may say: are sours gluten free?
The answer is no! Talk about the sour beers; unfortunately, they have gluten in them. The brewing tradition of sour beers includes wheat, a clear indication of gluten in them. However, you may find some types free of gluten where the method varies a bit.
Let us not talk only about the beers in sour; there are other food products which may or may not have gluten. If you are more into finding gluten free food, stay on the page and find out!
You may also like: Is nutrament good for diabetics
Are sours gluten free – Things You Need to know?
As I said above, if you mean the beer, you may be disappointed to find gluten in it as the manufacturing method of sour beer includes wheat which is, in one way or another, a part of the method.
But if it is about other sour products, the answer can vary greatly. Let us deal with them separately to let you know the facts.
These have rye, wheat or barley in them, but they are still considered gluten free due to the distillation process. You can have it but keep an eye on the use of additives which can be the reason for gluten in them.
Fruited sour or Gose beer is brewed with at least 50% wheat. So there is gluten in it, but the amount may be low from other beers.
Kettle sours are distilled with rice and millet, free from gluten. The hop used in kettle beer is also gluten free
Amaretto is alcohol based mainly on almonds, apricots, kernels and peach stones. These ingredients have no traces of wheat or gluten you say. Plus, the distillation process clears it from having gluten.
Apple sour alcohol or sour apple candies are both gluten free. The sour beer with the tingling flavor of orange, lemon and apple juice has no gluten. Neither the sour candies have any trace of gluten.
Whiskey sour mix:
It is also homemade and doesn’t include gluten or dairy products. It is a purely vegetarian drink with lemon juice and maple syrup. It is a pure festive serving.
Does celiac disease allow you to take sour beers?
No, celiac disease doesn’t allow you to take sour beers. It warns you to avoid any such product with rye, wheat or any other gluten-containing ingredient. Even the distillation or fermentation doesn’t completely separate it from the gluten.
However, as mentioned above, some types of sour beers have this exception of being gluten free. You need to be extra cautious and go for the details before buying them.
Are cherry sours gluten free?
The chewy confections in cherry flavor which you call cherry sours are by manufacture gluten free. That is good news for people with celiac problems. but there still is a red light.
During processing or packaging, cross-contamination can be one reason to consider having some gluten. You need to read the label information carefully if you are conscious of it.
Here is a list of sour candy types you can have without fearing gluten.
|A List of Sour Candy||Gluten Free Candy|
|sour cherry blasters||Maynards Sour Cherry Blasters Candy|
|sour cherry candies||Sour Cherry Frooties – Tootsie Roll Chewy Candy|
|sour cherry balls||Red Cherry Fruit Sours Chewy Candy Balls|
All of the above-mentioned confectioneries are free of gluten. The candies are called gluten free if they don’t have protein or derivatives of the following ingredients.
- Vital gluten semolina
- Malt vinegar
Are McCormick’s dino sours gluten free?
No, McCormicks Dino- Sours (mildly sour gummy candies) isn’t gluten free. This chewy and soft candy has gluten’s presence in them.
The additional information explains that the allergens may contain wheat, a sign of gluten in them. Mccormick’s dino sours are in the shape of a dinosaur to get a name as dino candy.
Do popsicles contain gluten?
No, it’s thoroughly a gluent free product. People with celiac disease are always looking for eatables without gluten in them. When you talk about popsicles, there are many brands which clearly state that the product is gluten free and you can safely enjoy it.
The tip is to look for the label and the allergens in them which are mentioned. If the allergens are not mentioned, it means more on the gluten free side.
The best way is to see the label or go to the brand’s website to clarify the query.
Try these if you want gluten free popsicles:
- Chloe’s pop,
- Cosmic bliss
- Kisko Kids Freezie
- Jolly llama
- Jonny pops
- Luigi’s Real Italian Ice
- minute maid juice bars
- Philly Swirl Swirl Stix
- Ruby Rockets Frozen Pop
You may also like: What happens if you microwave protein powder?
Can a celiac patient take dino buddies?
Luckily, yes! The yummy dino buddies-chicken nuggets are a separate product saying Gluten-free on the packaging.
So if you need to avoid gluten, you can still enjoy the dino buddies, which are 100 % natural, with no artificial ingredients or preservatives, which can be a reason for gluten.
Is there gluten in kettle chips?
No, the kettle brand offers chips without gluten. You can read on their packaging or even some flavors that kettle chips have the gluten-free tag on the top saying wheat-free, gluten-free.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Are Dino Sours Gluten Free?
Yes, the dino sours are gluten free. They contain mineral oil. They are sour in flavor and are shaped like dinosaurs.
Are Icebreaker Sours Gluten Free?
Yes, the icebreaker mints are gluten free. The brand also supplies gums
Are All Sours Gluten Free?
No, not all the sours can be claimed as gluten free. Some of the sours have ingredients and distillation processes due to which they have gluten.
Does Apple Crumble Have Gluten?
The apple crumble is a special apple-based recipe with oats and brown sugar. There are some specially designed recipes for apple crumble which don’t include gluten.
Are McDonald’s Apple Slices Gluten Free?
Yes, the Mcdonald’s apple slices are gluten free.
Is Sourdough Gluten Free?
The sourdough is not gluten free. The fermentation process does reduce the gluten in the dough but does not free it completely from the dough.
The presence of gluten in the sours or not, it is not a complete yes or not a complete no. One thing more that if there is a product which is free of gluten in Germany, there can be a possibility to have gluten in it in Australia.
People with celiac disease need to be conscious and check the packaging and website to be sure enough. Stay healthy and keep enjoying the good food!